Permanently Live in Canada

People who immigrate to Canada can count on receiving many of the government benefits available to Canadian citizens, as well as experiencing the high quality of life that this country is famous for providing. There are currently more than 50 programs available for immigrating to Canada.

Once you become a permanent resident you are required to live in Canada for at least 2 out of every 5 years. Your visa expires one year from the date of your medical, unless you have applied for your Permanent Residency card from within Canada, with a Canadian address.

1. Federal Skilled Worker Program (Express Entry) /

The Federal Skilled Worker program is the main application stream for candidates, outside of Canada, to apply for Permanent Residency.
Eligibility for the Federal Skilled Worker Stream is assessed out of 100 points through the following factors. The pass mark is 67 – points are awarded for:

  • your skills in English and/or French
  • your education,
  • your work experience,
  • your age,
  • whether you have arranged employment in Canada and,
  • your adaptability (how well you are likely to settle in Canada).

Currently, to be eligible you must have skilled work experience and your work experience must be:

  • at least one year (1,560 hours total / 30 hours per week), continuous full-time or an equal amount in part-time,
  • paid work (volunteer work, unpaid internships do not count),
  • in the same job
  • within the last 10 years, and
  • at skill type 0, or skill levels A or B of the 2011 National Occupational Classification (NOC).

2. Federal Skilled Trade Program (Express Entry)

There is a strong need all across Canada for skilled foreign tradespeople in numerous occupations, so the Canadian government created the Federal Skilled Trades Program (FSTP) to help fill thousands of high-demand jobs in Canada. Thus, if you are an experienced tradesperson who meets the eligibility requirements for the FSTP, you may be able to apply for a permanent resident visa to Canada through the Express Entry system.

There are 90 NOC B level occupations which are eligible under this class of immigration. Eligible occupations can be categorized as:

  • Industrial, electrical and construction trades
  • Maintenance and equipment operation trades
  • Supervisors and technical occupations in national resources, agriculture and related production
  • Processing, manufacturing and utilities supervisors and central control operators
  • Chefs and cooks
  • Butchers and bakers
The requirements for the program are as follows:

  • Plan to live outside the province of Quebec,
  • Meet the required English or French levels as determined through a recognized test,
  • Have at least two (2) years of full-time work experience in a skilled trade within the five (5) years before you apply,
  • Meet all job requirements as set out in the National Occupational Classification and,
  • Have an offer of full-time employment for a total period of at least one year OR a Certificate of Qualification in that skilled trade issued by a provincial or territorial body.

3. Canadian Experience Class (Express Entry)

The Canadian Experience Class (CEC) is an immigration program that allows foreign individuals who have worked in Canada for at least one year to immigrate permanently.

Eligibility criteria:

  • Have at least 12 months of full-time (or an equivalent in part-time) skilled work experience in Canada within the last three years. This experience must have been while on a valid work permit and needs to be in an occupation classified as skill type 0, A or B under the National Occupational Classification (NOC),
  • Plan on living outside the province of Quebec and,
  • Meet the required English or French language levels needed for your job for each language ability (speaking, reading, listening, and writing).

4. Saskatchewan Immigrant Nominee Program (SINP)

Saskatchewan Immigrant Nominee Program (SINP) is developed by the provincial government to attract prospective immigrants who possess the required skills and experience and plan to live in Saskatchewan on a permanent basis to help develop the economy. An approved SINP certificate opens doors for a nominated individual to apply for a permanent residency through IRCC. A provincial PNP helps in making the whole process faster than some of the other immigration options. SINP is currently taking applications under 4 major streams: International Skilled Worker Stream; Saskatchewan Experience Stream; Entrepreneur Stream; and Farm Stream.

  • International Skilled Worker Stream: International skilled worker stream under SINP if for skilled foreign workers who want to work and settle down in Saskatchewan.
  • Saskatchewan Experience Stream: The Saskatchewan experience stream of SINP is for skilled foreign workers who are currently in Saskatchewan.
  • Entrepreneur Stream: The entrepreneur stream is developed for individuals who want to invest, purchase or partner in a new or established business in Saskatchewan. They have to take an active role in management functions of the business. Under this program, applicants have to submit an (EOI) to the provincial government and wait for their selection based on their merit. Once all Expression of Interest the documents are verified, SINP Nomination Certificate is issued.
  • Farm Stream: Under the farm stream of SINP, farmers who wish to invest capital in a farming operation in Saskatchewan and also wish to live and settle down in the province are invited to apply. Applicants have to show a considerable capital, they need to have a good farming experience and willingness to buy and run a farm in Saskatchewan.


1What is Express Entry?
Express Entry is not a Canadian Immigration Stream. It is indeed an immigration online system to effectively select skilled foreign workers whose characteristics put them in a strong position to immigrate to Canada and to start working in their occupation as soon as possible. A candidate must meet the requirements of Federal Skilled Worker, Trades or Canadian Experience streams to be accepted into the ‘Pool’ of eligible candidates. All those accepted are ranked through a points system. An accepted profile is valid for one year. If an invitation of apply (ITA) is offered either by means of a Provincial Nomination, a Validated job offer or through a high-ranking score, a candidate has just 60 days to apply via an established Immigration stream. The Canadian Federal Government estimate that this application will take around 6 months for full Residency Visas.

Immigration News

    Your questions are not answered here?